Skip to content

About the Commission

About the Commission

Our role is to keep under review all local government areas in Wales, and the electoral arrangements for the principal areas, and to make such proposals to the Welsh Government as seem desirable in the interests of effective and convenient local government.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales was established in 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972. We were re-named the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales in 2013 under the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013 (external link).


  • Chair:  Mr Owen Watkin, OBE DL
  • Deputy Chair: Mr Ceri Stradling
  • Member: Mr David Powell
  • Member: Mrs Julie May
  • Member: Mr Theodore Joloza

Audit Committee

  • Independent Member: Mrs Julie James


  • Chief Executive: Mr Steve Halsall