Merthyr Tydfil Council Boundary Reforms Confirmed


Welsh Government accepts LDBCW recommendations

Reforms to Merthyr Tydfil Council’s ward boundaries are to go ahead after the Welsh Government decided to accept the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales with minor modifications only made to recommended Welsh language ward names.

The Commission’s Final Recommendations were submitted to the Welsh Government 29 October 2019 and minister for finance and local government, Rebecca Evans MS, has today confirmed that the decision has been made to accept the recommendations.

The changes accepted by the Welsh Government mean that Merthyr Tydfil’s number of councillors will reduce by 3, taking the council from 33 to 30 members. This results in an average of 1,509 electors per councillor.

Meanwhile the number of wards will be unchanged at 11, with each of those wards electing multiple members.

4 wards will elect 2 members, 6 will elect 3 members, and 1 will elect 4 members.

8 current wards will see no change under these reforms.

A small number of recommendations on Welsh language ward names were not accepted by Welsh Government.

Responding to the Welsh Government’s decision, Shereen Williams MBE OStJ, Chief Executive of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales said:

“I’m delighted that the Welsh Government has accepted these recommendations with only minor modifications.

“These changes will mean greater electoral parity for the people of Merthyr Tydfil.

“I’d like to thank everyone who contributed to the review, the members of the public, councillors, Merthyr Tydfil Council, and everyone else who sent us a representation or contributed in any other way.”

The boundary changes are expected to take effect from the 2022 local government elections.

The full list of retained wards:

  • Bedlinog
  • Plymouth
  • Cyfarthfa
  • Town
  • Merthyr Vale
  • Treharris
  • Penydarren
  • Vaynor

Recommendations not accepted by Welsh Government:

  • The Commission proposed the electoral ward of Park is given the Welsh language name of Parc. The electoral ward will be given the Welsh language name of Y Parc.
  • The Commission proposed no change to the electoral ward of Bedlinog. The electoral ward will be given the English language name of Bedlinog and Trelewis and the Welsh language name of Bedlinog a Threlewis.
  1. The Final Recommendations report for Merthyr Tydfil Council can be found here, along with maps of each proposed ward:
  2. The Welsh Government Written Statement can be found here: