Isle of Anglesey Council Boundary Reforms Confirmed



Welsh Government accepts LDBCW recommendations

Reforms to Isle of Anglesey Council’s ward boundaries are to go ahead after the Welsh Government decided to accept the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales with one minor modification only made to a recommended ward name.

The Commission’s Final Recommendations were submitted to the Welsh Government 12 November 2020 and Minister for Finance and Local Government, Rebecca Evans MS, has confirmed that the decision has been made to accept the recommendations.

The changes accepted by the Welsh Government mean that Isle of Anglesey’s number of councillors will increase by 5, taking the council from 30 to 35 members.

Meanwhile the number of wards will be increased from 11 to 14, with all 14 being multi-member wards.

7 wards will elect 2 councillors while 7 wards will elect 3 councillors.

6 current wards will see no change under these reforms.

A single recommendation on a ward name was not accepted by Welsh Government.

Responding to the Welsh Government’s decision, Shereen Williams MBE OStJ, Chief Executive of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales said:

“I’m delighted that the Welsh Government has accepted these recommendations with only minor modifications.

“These changes will mean greater electoral parity for the people of Anglesey.

“I’d like to thank everyone who contributed to the review, the members of the public, councillors, Isle of Anglesey Council, and everyone else who sent us a representation or contributed in any other way.”

The boundary changes are expected to take effect from the 2022 local government elections.

The full list of retained wards:

  • Aethwy
  • Bro Aberffraw
  • Lligwy
  • Twrcelyn
  • Seiriol
  • Ynys Gybi

The Final Recommendations report for Isle of Anglesey Council can be found here, along with maps of each proposed ward.

The Welsh Government Written Statement announcing the decision can be found here.