Cardiff Council Boundary Reforms Confirmed


Welsh Government announces decisions on LDBCW recommendations

Reforms to Cardiff Council’s ward boundaries are to go ahead after the Welsh Government decided to accept the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales with modifications made to two recommendations.

The Commission’s Final Recommendations were submitted to the Welsh Government 05 November 2020 and Minister for Finance and Local Government, Rebecca Evans MS, has today confirmed that the decision has been made to accept the majority of the recommendations.

The changes accepted by the Welsh Government mean that Cardiff’s number of councillors will increase by 4, taking the council from 75 to 79 members. This results in an average of 3,078 electors per councillor.

Meanwhile the number of wards will remain the same, with all of them being multi-member wards.

Nine wards will elect 2 councillors, 15 wards will elect 3 councillors, and four wards will elect 4 councillors.

21 current wards will see no change under these reforms.

Writing in the Written Statement, the Minister stated she was satisfied the Commission had met the requirements of the Local Government (Democracy) (Wales) Act 2013, and the detailed arrangements within its agreed Policy and Practice document in conducting the Electoral Review for Cardiff.

Responding to the Welsh Government’s decision, Shereen Williams MBE OStJ, Chief Executive of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales said:

“I’m delighted that the Welsh Government has accepted the majority of the Commission’s recommendations.

“These changes will mean greater electoral parity for the people of Cardiff.

“I’d like to thank everyone who contributed to the review, the members of the public, councillors, Cardiff Council, and everyone else who sent us a representation or contributed in any other way.”

The boundary changes are expected to take effect from the 2022 local government elections.

The full list of retained wards:

  • Adamsdown
  • Caerau
  • Canton
  • Cathays
  • Cyncoed
  • Ely
  •  Fairwater
  • Gabalfa
  • Heath
  • Llandaff
  • Llandaff North
  • Llanrumney
  • Penylan
  • Plasnewydd
  • Pontprennau / Old St. Mellons
  • Rhiwbina
  • Riverside
  • Rumney
  • Splott
  • Trowbridge
  • Whitchurch and Tongwynlais

Modifications made by Welsh Government:

Electoral ward arrangements

The electoral wards of Llanrumney, and Pontprennau / Old St. Mellons will retain their existing arrangements.

Electoral ward names

The electoral ward Pontprennau / Old St. Mellons will be named Pontprennau and Old St Mellons

The Final Recommendations report for Cardiff Council can be found here, along with maps of each proposed ward.

The Welsh Government Written Statement announcing the decision can be found here.