Flintshire Council Boundary Reforms Confirmed


Welsh Government announces decisions on LDBCW recommendations


Reforms to Flintshire Council’s ward boundaries are to go ahead after the Welsh Government decided to accept the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales with modifications made to two recommendations.

The Commission’s Final Recommendations were submitted to the Welsh Government 16 June 2020 and Minister for Finance and Local Government, Rebecca Evans MS, has today confirmed that the decision has been made to accept the majority of the recommendations.

The changes accepted by the Welsh Government mean that Flintshire’s number of councillors will reduce by 3, taking the council from 70 to 67 members.

Meanwhile the number of wards will be reduced from 57 to 45, with 21 of those being multi-member wards.

20 wards will elect 2 councillors and 1 ward will elect 3 councillors.

21 current wards will see no change under these reforms.

A small number of recommendations were not accepted by Welsh Government.

Responding to the Welsh Government’s decision, Shereen Williams MBE OStJ, Chief Executive of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales said:

“I’m delighted that the Welsh Government has accepted the majority of the Commission’s recommendations.

“These changes will mean greater electoral parity for the people of Flintshire

“I’d like to thank everyone who contributed to the review, the members of the public, councillors, Flintshire, and everyone else who sent us a representation or contributed in any other way.”

The boundary changes are expected to take effect from the 2022 local government elections.

The full list of retained wards:

  • Broughton North East
  • Broughton South
  • Buckley: Bistre West
  • Caergwrle
  • Caerwys
  • Cilcain
  • Connah’s Quay: Wepre
  • Ewloe
  • Greenfield
  • Higher Kinnerton
  • Holywell Central
  • Holywell East
  • Holywell West
  • Hope
  • Leeswood
  • Llanfynydd
  • Mostyn
  • Pen-y-ffordd
  • Shotton West
  • Treuddyn
  • Whitford

Recommendations not accepted by Welsh Government:

  • Recommended ward of Caergwrle, Llanfynydd and Treuddyn
  • Recommended ward of Higher Kinnerton and Hope

The Final Recommendations report for Flintshire Council can be found here, along with maps of each proposed ward.

The Welsh Government Written Statement announcing the decision can be found here.